Composition Competition Finalists

RWCMD___main_entrance___body_imageThe shortlist for the inaugural RWCMD Cory Composition Competition has been announced. The three finalists will have their music performed as part of a special Gala Concert at the RWCMD in Cardiff on 23 May, when a winner will be decided. The judging panel for the evening consists of Bob Childs, Kevin Price, John Hardy and Philip Harper.

Philip Harper, Cory Band Musical Director, commented: “I was delighted with the number of entries we received for this competition, and there was a real eclectic mix of genres and styles submitted, which is reflected even within the shortlist of three. It will be a great night at the college on 23rd!”

The shortlisted pieces will form a middle section to the first half of the concert which will also feature solos from Steve Stewart (soprano), Tom Hutchinson (cornet) and Chris Thomas (trombone) as well as brass band classics such as Poet and Peasant Overture and Procession to the Minster.

The shortlist is as follows (in no particular order):

English Counterpoint by Lewis Furber

Hymn for Heroes by Ian McElligott

Echoes of Friction by Stan Nieuwenhuis

Share this post