Britpop Brass Release


To coincide with the 25th anniversary of The Battle Of Britpop way back in 1993, Decca has announced the release of a unique collection of songs from the period that defined the 1990s – with a difference. All tracks are performed by The Cory Band – the best brass band in the world! – and feature brass interpretations of Britpop classics by the likes of Blur, Oasis, Suede and Pulp. The album is entitled Britpop Brass and will be released on June 8th 2018.

Decca Records’ Fiona Pope says: “Following on from the success of Hacienda Classical and Pete Tong’s Classic House, it felt the right time to celebrate Britpop in an unexpected and grand manner. The sound of the brass really lent itself to the genre, and of course the British roots of brass brands felt apt for a Britpop collaboration!”

Cory is a band that always looks to push the boundaries and to attract new audiences to the musical possibilities from a quality Brass Band.  This collaboration with the global record label Decca provides a unique opportunity to combine to contrasting musical worlds. The result is a fantastic, fresh sounding album with brand new arrangements that audiences will love hearing live at festivals and concerts.

Philip Harper, Musical Director of Cory commented “We are excited by the imminent release of Britpop Brass and listening to the final mix after working on the material several months ago at an intimate studio in Cardiff.  It was a new recording experience for us and we are really looking forward to working closely with Decca over the months to come to share this album with audiences throughout the country and hopefully further afield.”

The first single to be lifted from the album is a stirring brass rendition of Supergrass’s Alright.

The full track listing of Britpop Brass runs as follows: Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve; Don’t Look Back In Anger – Oasis; Country House – Blur; Mulder and Scully – Catatonia; Animal Nitrate – Suede; Girls and Boys – Blur; Roll With It – Oasis; Walkaway – Cast; Common People – Pulp; Alright – Supergrass; Good Enough – Dodgy; Wake Up Boo – Boo Radleys.

Here are social links related to the album:

Britpop Brass can be ordered here – and will also be available from very shortly.


Share this post