Awards Evening

Cory Band held its annual Awards Evening on Saturday 2 January 2016, to celebrate achievements in the previous 12 months.

20160102-Gwyn Thomas Tom HutchinsonThere were several awards and announcements made over the course of the evening, with principal cornet Tom Hutchinson winning the coveted Player’s Player of the Year Award, having performed with distinction throughout 2015, not least on his debut solo CD release, In Principal. The award is voted for by fellow band members and, in a short address whilst collecting the trophy, Tom revealed his delight at scooping the prize. He also won in 2012.

The Band Member of the Year Award went to Gwyn Thomas, the band’s librarian, for his selfless year-round work to support the band in countless areas, also notably with matters concerning the upkeep and management of the band’s rehearsal room in Cwm Parc. Musical Director Philip Harper explained: “Gwyn was Cory Band’s star soprano cornet player for many years, including the Nationals hat trick in 1982-84. He has devoted his whole life to the band, and the devotion shows no sign of abating. This is the perfect award to recognise his immense and continuing contribution to the Cory Band.

Outgoing Chairman Austin Davies was thanked for his unstinting service to the band over many years, firstly as a tuba player, and more latterly as the Band Manager and the face of Cory Band, before being presented with a commemorative plaque.

Morgan JonesFinally, during Philip Harper’s speech to the gathered band members and their partners, he revealed that the band would have a new President in the shape of TV broadcaster Morgan Jones, who was present with his wife to give an opening address in which he spoke about his pride at being invited to the prestigious position, and his lifelong passion for brass bands. Morgan is best known as the anchorman for Welsh channel S4C’s European football show, Sgorio, but also presents many other arts and cultural shows, including Band Cymru.

Share this post